Welcome to PACROFI XIV

We are delighted to host the fourteenth PACROFI conference at Rice University

What you will learn

The biennial PACROFI conference series has been a leading international forum for the presentation of fluid and melt inclusion research.  We anticipate a vibrant meeting of researchers from academia, industry, and government.  We invite you to attend!

Oral Presentations

Keynote lectures will be allotted 40 minutes each. All other oral presentations will be allotted 20 minutes each. We ask that each speaker reserve five minutes at the end of his or her allotted time for audience questions and discussion. An LCD projector, desktop computer (MAC), laser pointer, document camera and speakers will be available for all presenters. Please bring presentations on a flash drive with back up. All oral presentations will be given in Sewall Hall (building 39 on map).

Poster Presentations

Posters must fit within a 4 ft × 4 ft (121 cm ×121 cm) space. Posters will be mounted using push pins, which will be provided by the conference. All posters will be displayed in the hallway adjacent to Sewall Hall (building 39 on map).

Please be sure that you or one of your co-authors is present at your poster during the designated poster sessions to answer questions from conference participants.

Rice University

The Mission of the Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences Department at Rice University is to pursue excellence in research, education and outreach in the fields of earth, environmental, energy, and planetary sciences. Our host for this conference is Cin-Ty Lee, Department Chair for the Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences Department at Rice University.





Keynote speakers

A list of our valued keynote speakers

Bob Burruss

USGS (retired)

Petroleum and Sedimentary Inclusion Session: Raman spectroscopy and PVTX of hydrocarbon fluid inclusions: Analyzing P and T of oil and gas migration

    Pilar Lecumberri-Sanchez

    University of Alberta, Canada

    Session: Ore Deposits

      Daniel Marshall

      Simon Fraser University, Canada

      Session: Stable isotope disequilibrium in zoned emeralds precipitated from two phase fluids at chemical equilibrium

        Jacques Pironon

        Université de Lorraine , France

        Analytical Techniques Session: The history of the analytical techniques applied to petroleum inclusions and the recent developments using the microcapillary technique.

          Ed Waddington

          University of Washington

          Session: Other uses of fluid inclusions in ice cores

            James D. Webster

            American Museum of Natural History

            Session: Magmatic/Melt Inclusions

              Zoltán Zajacz

              University of Toronto, Canada

              Session: Analytical/Theoretical/Experimental


                Please check back as the schedule with be updated as new sessions are added.

                The schedule for the conference itself will be established after the May 15th deadline for submission of abstracts. The organizing committee will review them and assign them to oral or poster presentations during the conference.The keynote addresses will also be scheduled at that time and added to the conference schedule.

                7:00-9:00 PM
                Ice Breaker Reception
                7:00-9:00 PM
                Conference Registration
                7:00-8:00 am
                Conference Registration

                “Constraining the history of fluid events using the fluid inclusion assemblage (FIA) method for collecting, displaying and interpreting microththermometric data”

                Dr. Andras Fall

                “Fluid inclusion applications to understanding diagenetic systems”

                Professor Bob Goldstein & Dr. Zhaoqi Li

                “Application of fluid inclusions in petroleum exploration”

                Dr. Stephen Becker

                “Mapping and Evaluating: Production; Near By Economic Pay; and Paleo Pay Zones.  Rock Volatiles Stratigraphy of New and Old PDC Cuttings”

                Dr. Mike Smith & Bill Murphy
                7:00-8:00 am
                Conference Registration

                Information about this section is to be determined.

                Information about this section is to be determined.

                MIKE ZIMMER
                6/14 @ 1:00 pm

                Field trip to the Eagle Ford Shale exploring strata in road cuts along U.S. Highway 90, northwest of Del Rio, TX. Limited to 25 participants, may expand capacity if demand merits.

                6/16 @ 3:00 pm

                Newsletter signup

                Stay updated on what’s new with PACROFI

                Event tickets

                Hurry up and get the Early Bird tickets while they are available

                Silver Pass
                • Regular seating
                • Free snacks
                • Regular badge
                Buy now
                Early Bird
                • Front seats
                • Free snacks
                • VIP Badge
                • VIP lounge access
                Buy now
                Gold Pass
                • Front seats
                • Free snacks
                • VIP badge
                Buy now

                Organizing Committee

                Conference Directors: Mike Smith and Gary Gray

                Gary Gray

                Rice University

                Mike Smith

                Advanced Hydrocarbon Stratigraphy

                Stephen Becker

                ExxonMobil Upstream Research

                Ash Bigge


                Don Hall

                Schlumberger Reservoir Laboratories

                Katrina Cox

                Core Laboratories

                Andras Fall

                Bureau of Economic Geology, University of Texas

                Janet Haggerty

                University of Tulsa

                Cin-Ty Lee

                Department Chair Rice University Earth Environmental and Planetary Sciences Department

                Zhaoqi Li

                University of Kansas

                Gordon Macleod

                Chesapeake Energy

                Bob Pottorf

                ExxonMobil Upstream Research Corporation (Retired)

                Jinny Sisson

                University of Houston

                Dennis Smith

                ExxonMobil Upstream Research Corporation (Retired)

                Mike Sterner

                Schlumberger Reservoir Laboratories

                Register for PACROFI XIV now

                Use our simple online registration form to easily join PACROFI XIV.

                Our sponsors

                these awesome companies support us

                We greatly appreciate our host for PACROFI XIV—-The Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences Department at Rice University, Cin-Ty Lee, Chair.
                Corporate Sponsorships and Donations available—$1000 sponsorship gives you a full page ad in the Abstract Volume


                • Rice University
                  6100 Main St, Houston, TX
                • info@pacrofi.com
                • 1-918-671-0355
                • JUNE 11-16